Television Film

The White Rabbit

  • Das weisse Kaninchen 1
  • Das weisse Kaninchen 2
  • Das weisse Kaninchen 3

Drama | 90 min. | SWR/ARD  | 2016

Written by: Holger Karsten Schmidt, Michael Proehl 

Director: Florian Schwarz

Camera: Philipp Sichler

Filmed in: Berlin, Mannheim

Cast: Devid Striesow, Lena Urzendowsky, Louis Hofmann, Shenja Lacher, Anja Schiffel, Julia Jäger, Patrick Heyn, Samia Chancrin, Eva Nürnberg, Christoph Schechinger et al.

The White Rabbit focuses on 13-year-old Sara, who makes friends with 16-year-old Benny during an online quiz – never suspecting that "Benny" is in fact a family man in his mid-40s, Simon Keller, a dedicated teacher who has classes in Media Education. While Sara feels increasingly misunderstood by her parents and her best friend Leonie, the sensitive Keller alias Benny quickly manages to gain the trust of the girl.


When Sara falls in love with 17-year-old Kevin over the Internet and soon finds herself being blackmailed by him about a photograph of herself naked, Keller offers to help the desperate girl. Meanwhile, Stuttgart CID is on the trail of Kevin’s criminal activities. But Keller can't prevent Sara from undergoing a terrible experience, and the CID inspectors are also unable to stop the impending catastrophe…



First Broadcast on September 28 at 20:15, ARD.



Awards, Nominations, Festivals

Grimme Prize 2017 in the category 'Fiction'.

Bayerischer Fernsehpreis 'Der Blaue Panther 2017' to the main actor Devid Striesow. 

Creative Energy Award 2016 (Int. Filmfest Emden/Norderney) to the writers Michael Proehl und Holger Karsten Schmidt.

Medienkulturpreis 2016 (Festival des deutschen Films Ludwigshafen) to the commissioning editor Claudia Gerlach-Benz.

Ludwigshafener Drehbuchpreis 2016 to the writer Michael Proehl.

Award of the Saarland Rundfunk (Günther Rohrbach Filmpreis) to the main actress Lena Urzendowsky.

In Competition at the Festival de la Fiction in La Rochelle.

In Competition of the TV-Film Festival Baden-Baden.

Nominated for the German Fernsehpreis 2017 in the categories 'Best Film', 'Best Music' and 'Best Script'.

Nominated for the 15th German Hörfilmreis 2017.

Nominations to the main actress Lena Urzendowsky for the New Faces Award and the Studio Hamburg Nachwuchspreis 2017.

Nominated for the Prix Europa.

Presented at the international board INPUT 2017 in Thessaloniki.